People have been asking me where I’ve disappeared to.

I haven’t gone anywhere. I’m still here. Still blogging. Still writing. Still…you get the picture.

The truth is, real life got kind of busy over the past month. Not busy in a “I’m-pulling-out-my-(nonexsistent)-hair” kind of way, but busy enough that finding time to write has been damn near impossible.

With the holidays, have come work deadlines on projects that people want finished before the end of the year. Family have been around a lot more. And school has been iffy with the kids being home more than ever this month.

I decided to take the time off from the blog, and do some soul searching.

Some of you know that I’ve been starting to look into learning martial arts. It’s something I’ve wanted to do since I was a teenager. But I’ve never been able to get around it for various reasons that I won’t get into now. The reason I bring this up is this: The guy that I train with has been hounding me the last couple of months about setting goals.

“If you don’t make a goal for yourself, someone will make it for you.”

“Set a goal so big that you can’t achieve it until you grow into a person who can.”

These are just some of the quotes that have been drilled into my head between jabs and pak saos.

So, I took December and set some goals for myself.

I went old school, grabbed a notebook and a pencil, and made a long list of everything I want to accomplish this year. And I mean everything. I have financial goals, health goals, and of course, writing goals.

I took that list and, one-by-one, made an outline of everything I need to do to accomplish each goal. Needless to say, I have my work cut out for me this year. I have a lot to do, and I only have 361 days left to do it.

I won’t share with you the list of what I want to accomplish, but I will say this: You will see what I’ve been working on soon. Some of it will even be posted here.

Pay close attention.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to jump back into my shame pile.

One thought on “2016: The Road Ahead

Leave a Reply

